Hot ideas

Yesterday’s warm weather was a bit debilitating but at the same time very enjoyable. Summer’s finale is circling  somewhere above and we fry below on the surface…literally. Perhaps watching the Berlin Track and Field Championship broadcasts have me thinking I’m an athlete or maybe it was just plain stupidity when I decided to test myself a bit at 3 in the afternoon today when the temps were about 95F out there. Only ~30% humidity…that good ol’ dry heat.

It wasn’t too bad for a little while. And I do mean little…as I soon found myself aiming for any slice of shade I could find. I made it about 1.5 miles before really starting to feel the heat on my soles, around as far as I expected…

Afterwards, running cold water over my feet in the bathtub was heavenly. The ligament appreciated it too…it’s really just about unnoticeable once I get going, only tightening up when rested.

Today I was able to go longer than usual, which felt wonderful (it has been a while since I’ve been able to go >3 miles with no ligament discomfort), although my soles were complaining quite loudly that last half mile or so, mainly because of a nasty chip-sealed road I thought I’d take a detour on. It was only around 76F as well…80% humidity though…drippy.

I did about 5.5 miles in an hour, my longest barefoot run to date come to think of it. Woo!

~ by Barefoot Bonehead on August 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
