Suddenly this summer

Perfect weather this morning as I was plotting a new course to spice things up a bit, choosing a large pond as a turnaround point for what I had hoped was going to be a longer than usual run. About 3 miles into what was lined up to be a truly lovely excursion, the tides turned and suddenly I was the proud owner of a new twinging Achilles tendon. My ‘beta drive’ (left leg, my non-dominant of the pair) is always giving me trouble and today was no exception. It’s a bit shorter than its neighbor and it always lands a bit odd, but I’m learning to work with it, often concentrating on keeping the effort even-sided. So, I never saw any sunlight glimmering across a rippling lake, just more sidewalk and asphalt as I turned back early and limped home for a crash landing. Guess I’ll be taking it easy for a day or so…

I ended up with 6.5 miles in ~1:08 with an average HR of 139, all VFF’d.

~ by Barefoot Bonehead on July 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “Suddenly this summer”

  1. Left leg discrepancy: Have you noticed it affects your hamstring at all? I’m just starting the running in VFF and enjoying at. The reason that I’m trying it is that no orthotics/PT or any doctor has helped me with the hamstring and left achilles pain that the leg length problem has given me. I will say after two VFF runs, it doesn’t feel worse and the parts that should be sore are sore (soleus and calves). Can you share you experience with mileage and soreness?

Leave a Reply

 
